Tour Stop: My Writing Process Blog Tour

The lovely and ever charming Ella Martin asked me if I was interested in a blog tour talking about writing processes. Initially, I was like, WHAT writing process? because I’m probably the most unorganized writer out there, and my writing schedule is never set in stone. I write when I can, be it 5 minutes during the baby’s lunchtime or 2 hours while he’s napping. Baby boy is essentially THE BOSS OF THE HOUSE, and I’m the adoring mama/slave who must navigate my writing time around his needs.

Anyway, I caved in to doing this blog tour for two reasons: (1) I need to blog; and (2) Ella Martin is such a sweetheart I couldn’t possibly say no to her. Plus, she’s my agency-sister. Also, she just recently landed a 3-book deal (!!!) from Astraea Press because she’s awesome like that. Her book WILL THE REAL PRINCE CHARMING PLEASE STAND UP? is book 1 of the Westgate Prep Series, and I honestly cannot wait to read all her books! You can find her blogging here, but she’s mostly over on Twitter as @WestgatePrep.

*****

For this tour, I’m supposed to answer 4 questions. Let’s see what I can come up with…

1. What am I working on?

All right, easy enough. I’m currently rewriting from scratch a NaNo novel I started in 2012. Yep, that was 2 years ago. I put it aside to work on another WIP (YA Fantasy), but since last year, I’ve gone back to it because the story demands I finish it. It’s a YA supernatural thriller (am I making up this genre? *muses* I hope not) with an MC who can see ghosts. Throw in a serial killer in the mix, and things get…interesting. My first 3 drafts were lighter than a thriller, and being dissatisfied with the tone of the book, I’m rewriting to make it darker. I like dark. If I were Luke Skywalker, I’d probably gone over to the dark side. Good thing I’m not Luke Skywalker. (But I promise I’m superrrrr nice in real life. I’m as nice as a baby goat.)

[Okay, I was totally kidding about going over to the dark side. I’m Team Jedi, through and through.]

Aww, so sweet!
Photo by -Ebelien-

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Oh boy. And the questions get tougher, eh? I see what you’re doing here.

I’m not sure if this question’s asking about my work in general, or if it’s about my writing style? Someone once told me I write sensorial prose. That was a compliment that scared me a little, because pressure, right? Haha!

For this particular WIP, which is yet unnamed (I suck at titles), its biggest strength is probably the “voice” of my main character. She’s an interesting young lady, burdened with an ability she doesn’t want. I can’t really give away anything beyond that because of the fact that I’m still working on it, which means there’s room for plot evolution (I’m half-pantser, half-plotter).

3.Why do I write what I do?

Sheesh. Who came up with these questions?

I write what I write because my brain is a fascinating (read: weird) place, and if I don’t write down what goes on in the old noggin, I might silently implode.

explosion-gif-11

No, the real answer is:

I looove Fantasy and Paranormal. And Horror, and Thrillers, and Speculative Fiction. I thrive on the weird and eerie, the unexplainable and the strange. I like exploring the darkness that inherently resides in each and everyone of us, and how it contrasts with our natural desire to be good, to do good. We are such complex creatures, and there is beauty in that. I write what I write because I like to think, What if these things could be true? What if we really could see ghosts? What would we do?

Or if it’s a work of Fantasy, what would we do in a world that’s full of uncertainties, full of villains we can’t comprehend? (Interestingly enough, it sounds like the real world we live in.) I like playing What-ifs.

4. How does your writing process work?

Well. Hmm. Well.

It basically goes like this: sit down, open Word file, stare, write, stare some more, write. I have this funny habit of staring off into space when I’m thinking, and it really confuses my kiddos when they’re trying to talk to me and I look like I’m staring at them, listening…except I didn’t hear a word they’d just said. My brain conjures scenes, movie-style, and I have to convert what I’ve just “seen” into words on paper (or the Word file).

As for actual writing time? Like I’ve prefaced above, I write whenever I can. (Which makes me an extremely slow writer. But baby boy is growing up and will be less needy so I’m crossing my fingers I’ll get a more consistent writing time soon. Because I hate NOT writing anything.)

I usually go through many drafts and revisions before letting anyone read my work. I’m very self-conscious of the words I write. But I’m probably not alone in this.

*****

Hey, look at that! I survived. 😉

Because blog tours are a bit like chain letters that say you’ll have seven years of bad luck if you don’t pass it on, but will have the love of your life shower you with diamond rings and hand you keys to a Porsche and gift you a yacht, etc. if you do, I’m hereby bequeathing this to three AWESOME ladies I love and adore. Check ’em out:

Mary Frame is my soul sister and beta reader/partner. She lives in Reno, Nevada with her husband, two children, and a border collie named Stella. Her hilariously witty New Adult book, IMPERFECT CHEMISTRY, comes out this year ( I don’t have the publishing details yet, but I did get to beta read for her, and man, I love this book!). She tweets as @marewulf.

Angela V. Cook lives a very unexciting, but never boring, life with her husband and two children just outside of Detroit. Like most writers, she’s been making up stories for as long as she can remember and can’t imagine a life that doesn’t involve creating worlds. Angela loves to write novels for teens because it’s the perfect outlet for her sarcastic personality, immature sense of humor, and love of romantic firsts. Her debut novel about a teenage succubus comes out later this year from Red Adept Publishing. She tweets as @AngelaVCook.

J. Lea Lopez is a writer with a penchant for jello and a loathing for writing bios in third person. She writes character-driven erotica and contemporary new adult stories. Her Contemporary New Adult novel, SORRY’S NOT ENOUGH, is about one couple’s struggle to define family, love, forgiveness and trust, when it seems sorry’s not enough. Available now on Amazon! For more about Ms. Lopez and a list of her other works, visit her blog, or follow her on twitter: @JLeaLopez.

Now, where’s my Porsche?

*winks*

2 thoughts on “Tour Stop: My Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. I love this post! We share the habit of staring into space and not really seeing anything because the brain is busy whirring away 🙂

    Thanks for tagging me, my lovely goat sister!

Comments make the world go round!

